Because He Loves Me: Chapter 1

Why do I sometimes lose enthusiasm in following Christ? I can be rolling along, praising Jesus and really diving into and understanding His word. Praying constantly.

And then one day it is like I hit a brick wall and just stop.

Why do I have these pits and valleys in my walk with Christ?

Is this normal?

So in studying Because He Loves Me with some others online, I am hoping I can figure out my weakness in my love for Him.

So that I never lose enthusiasm again.

My scripture connections, revelations, and AHA moments for Chapter 1:

Scripture Connections

  1. Mark 14:27 to Mark 14:5
  • Jesus is The Shepherd. His disciples (including me and you and all Christians) are His flock. Why do we flee?

2.  Genesis 3:15 to Mark 15:19

  • The soldiers were hitting Jesus on the head. I think this is the devil mocking God for God’s punishment bestowed upon the snake/devil in Genesis 3:15.

Scripture Revelations

  1. Luke 4:18-19 When the words are not taken exactly literally and are defined, here is what I saw:
  • Poor is poor in Spirit. A rich man can be poor in spirit.
  • Captives are captives of addiction and abusive relationships
  • Oppressed are people abused and neglected, lonely, sick at heart, people stuck in a government where it is illegal to worship as a Christian, and people stuck in a family or peer group where it is discouraged to worship as a Christian.

2.  John 13:4-5 There are many scriptures in bible telling Christians we need to be servants. That is OUR JOB. And here, Jesus is literally doing a servant’s job, with NO explanation on His part. JUST PURE ACTION!

Often times I believe Christians do too much “lip service”. Many people who need to be reached overlook our actions as fake or even annoying. They do not believe our actions are genuine, due to all our “lip service”.

3. John 19: 15-16 I have always thought of Caesar as kind of the “king in the wrong place at the wrong time” mainly because of his wife’s nightmare, his reluctance to crucify Jesus, and how he “washed his hands” of Jesus’ crucifixion, as if the whole situation was disgusting to him.

But when you look at this verse alone, as it was shown in chapter 1 of Because He Loves Me, then it is easier to notice that as soon as the crowd says “We have no king but Caesar” this is when he relents and gives Jesus over.

I think this comment from the crowd inflated his ego! And all of sudden he didn’t want to “let the crowd down”. He indulged his ego by giving the crowd their wish. Pride won over his own logic of criminal proceedings, his own gut feeling, and even his wife’s urging to stay out of it!

EGO is a powerful force we have to watch out for!

4.  Romans 8:15 Slavery vs Adoption

Slavery is synonymous with no guarantee of love, a real fear of being sold or hurt, and NO INHERITANCE.

Slavery is The World

Adoption is synonymous with a guarantee of love, no need to fear being left behind, and receiving an INHERITANCE!

Adoption is Jesus’ Kingdom

AHA Moment (I will share only one, since my post is getting long)

 1 John 4:9-10 This verse has the word propitiation towards the end. And I was like “SAY What??!!” So I looked it up two ways.

Propitiation according to my bible’s side notes means “removed of divine wrath. Jesus’ death is how God can turn His wrath away from us.”

So basically propitiation according to the bible means that God can now turn His wrath away from our sin, because Jesus died on the cross for us.

Then I looked up the word in the dictionary. There it means: peace, calm, ease, and contentment.

YES! That is what my salvation through Jesus brings to me! Peace, calm, ease, and contentment!

Amen.

Follow this bible study at gracelaced.com and gracefullmama.com

ocean-rocks.jpg

http://facebook.com/thebondedmom/

About The Bonded Mom

I am on the journey of gentle parenting. I am a lover of Christ. And I am raising warriors. More specifically, I am a stay at home mom with 3 children. My daughter, Kamryn, is 13 and she was born to me as a single mom. My daughter Summer Grace is 7 and my son Lucas is 3. My heart has always been into Attachment Parenting, before I even knew what it was. I have extended breastfed all my children and allowed them to self-wean. We have always allowed co-sleeping and my two oldest children willingly moved to their own rooms to sleep with no problems, when they were ready. Being a mom is the best part of me, outside of my love for Christ. My husband works as a driver for UPS. He is an amazing man who works so hard to provide for us. We are just a normal family trying to make ends meet and raise a family centered on God's Love.
This entry was posted in Because He Loves Me. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Because He Loves Me: Chapter 1

  1. It is nice to meet you, Lee! I look forward to reading more of your thoughts on the book!

  2. I love the term “propitiation”…such a heady, rich word that encompasses everything we cannot do but everything we need! Thanks for pulling out some of the big stuff and breaking it down for the rest of us.

    • Thank you! I am new to blogging and after reading other posts on chapter 1, I felt a little too technical/preachy. But I guess that’s the whole point of a group study, is to see different perspectives. 🙂

  3. These are great thoughts and responses to the first chapter. I love that you are having “aha” moments as you really think through these scriptures!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! I am really enjoying this book, but am so happy I committed to myself on blogging each week on it. I know I am taking more notes and thinking about everything more because of that. And I can tell this book is really going to help me grow and learn to be steadfast in my walk with Christ 🙂

Leave a Reply

