The Beginning of My Journey…….Begins Everyday.

This summer, I began the earnest and everyday journey of becoming a Gentle Parent….or is it attachment parenting? or maybe positive parenting?  OK well anyways, call it what you want. It is what I want to be.

And after 7 months of  this oh-so gentle boot camp, I have a new name for this parenting lifestyle. EXTREME PARENTING. Because it is extremely hard, extremely rewarding, and extremely brilliant. And also, well….extremely worth it.

Do you know what Gentle Parenting is? It is everything you needed and wanted as a child. And everything you deserved, as well. It does not scream, it does not hit. It shows respect to children because they are people too.

I want to be the mom who never screams, never loses control.

Some days I am.

and I really love those days.

And when I am not, I don’t give in. I don’t give up. I apologize as soon as I come to my senses. And I start over and begin the process again in a tone that shows respect for my children, as well as myself.  Some people may say “Why should I show respect to my children, they are supposed to RESPECT ME!” But to get respect from your children, you have to teach it to them first. And teaching your children will always come from your actions.

Let me repeat that. Teaching your children will always come from your actions. every.single.time.

Every mistake is an opportunity to learn. Never waste a mistake! Never waste an opportunity to learn and improve. YOU are your best teacher. And YOU are your child’s best teacher.

Children are going to be molded. Make sure YOU do the molding. Mold them with love. Mold them with respect. Mold them with hope and passion for mankind. Do not mold them with an ongoing bad attitude, impatience, or bitterness. And certainly not with the world’s ways, which are not your ways, because they are not His ways.

You are so much more than that.

Love.

Are you love? To your children?

You are patient. You are kind. You do not envy, you do not boast, and you are not proud. You do not dishonor them, you are not self-seeking., you are not easily angered, you keep no record of wrongs. You do not delight in evil but you do rejoice in the truth. You always protect, always trust, always hope, and you always persevere.

You can do it! You can be love to your children. Because you can do all things through Him who gives you strength.

https://www.facebook.com/TheBondedMom

Kam&SG 2012

About The Bonded Mom

I am on the journey of gentle parenting. I am a lover of Christ. And I am raising warriors. More specifically, I am a stay at home mom with 3 children. My daughter, Kamryn, is 13 and she was born to me as a single mom. My daughter Summer Grace is 7 and my son Lucas is 3. My heart has always been into Attachment Parenting, before I even knew what it was. I have extended breastfed all my children and allowed them to self-wean. We have always allowed co-sleeping and my two oldest children willingly moved to their own rooms to sleep with no problems, when they were ready. Being a mom is the best part of me, outside of my love for Christ. My husband works as a driver for UPS. He is an amazing man who works so hard to provide for us. We are just a normal family trying to make ends meet and raise a family centered on God's Love.
This entry was posted in Mommies & Faith with some Gentle Parenting gently folded in. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Beginning of My Journey…….Begins Everyday.

  1. paula says:

    this looks great! 🙂

  2. “EXTREME PARENTING. Because it is extremely hard, extremely rewarding, and extremely brilliant. And also, well….extremely worth it.” So beautiful, so true! But it does get easier. I look forward to reading your posts and following your journey.

Leave a Reply

